Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: carb temps

carb temps 8 months 2 weeks ago #843

• STEVE ELLS
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 27
Hi Omar;
Since you're gathering data on the John Jewell HP increase, I suggest you write up your findings and I'll do my best to get them printed in the CPA magazine. We're always looking for more operating and piloting experience articles.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

carb temps 8 months 2 weeks ago #842

Steve,

Thanks for a great reply.

Now that I have been flying my C-182J for two years, I feel I am comfortable with knowing what is nominal for the plane. You're not the first to suggest a little carb heat to dampen the large differences in EGT; so I'm going to start trying that from now on.

I have been collecting climb/cruise performance numbers on the plane, as the John Jewel mod increased the HP to 252; so, the OEM charts may or may not be correct. Also, I have just subscribed to the full SavvyAnalysis service, and have already sent them a test flight profile record to start as a baseline.

Time to start squeezing every knot I can out of every drop of 100LL !

Omar

carb temps 8 months 2 weeks ago #841

• STEVE ELLS
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 27
Since you didn't specify whether your engine is carbureted or fuel injected I'll pass on what I know about carbureted engines.I fly behind a carbureted engine. I used to fly a Cessna 182 with a carbureted O470 R engine. After I installed a 6 cylinder engine monitor I discovered that there was a large spread between EGT numbers. When the first cylinder would peak, there were cylinders that were still very rich of peak; in some cases more than 100 degrees rich.