Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Distorted firewall in 182. Is replacement a MUST?

Distorted firewall in 182. Is replacement a MUST? 4 weeks 2 days ago #1041

Thank you both for your reply! You're both saying what I suspected, but I'm not a mechanic. Unfortunately, my mechanic doesn't agree so I will either need to shell out $20k to fix it or find another mechanic. Thanks again!
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Distorted firewall in 182. Is replacement a MUST? 4 weeks 2 days ago #1035

Alan,
What your picture shows is nothing serious. A firewall is a fire-wall. Nothing else. Some times they are slightly bent on purpose, to make room for accessories. Other are patched or spliced and glued together. As long as it keeps a fire out of the cabin, it’s doing it’s job. So answering your question, no, it’s not a MUST if its integrity is not compromised.
Below is a link to an old thread:

cessnaflyer.org/forum/maintenance/124-18...l-reinforcement.html
Last Edit: 4 weeks 2 days ago by Jose Lopezdelpuerto.

Distorted firewall in 182. Is replacement a MUST? 4 weeks 2 days ago #1034

Determination of airworthiness is somewhat subjective. What one IA might pass, another might not. Judging from your photo, I'd pass it if I were doing the annual, providing there were no other indications of damage such as cracks or bent stiffeners. Is it safe to fly? I wouldn't hesitate if that were all I could find. I agree with the mechanic who said the firewall wasn't structural - it's main purpose is to keep a fire and smokeproof wall between you and the engine compartment. It doesn't really hold anything together or contribute to structural integrity.

Distorted firewall in 182. Is replacement a MUST? 1 month 22 hours ago #1032